Day 2 – Hobbies

Positive, positive positive!

I’ve started making some good steps forward in terms of planning hobbies to keep me occupied over the next month or so (now that I have a huge space from not drinking). Here’s what I have so far.

Cookery course

In March I’ve signed up for a one-off evening cookery course with a friend from work. It’ll run for 2 and a half hours and is themed around Spanish Tapas. Dishes that we’ll be making include Mussels in vinaigrette, Crispy ham croquetas and Chickpeas with spinach. Mmmmm I can’t wait. I’ll obviously turn down the complimentary  glass of wine you get when you start to eat your creations!!

Volunteering work

This one is a longer term plan and is contingent upon actually getting approved by the firm! I’ve applied to support intimidated witnesses before their court hearings – the role would work around my full time job in Marketing and see me supporting and comforting witnesses who are due to give evidence in court. Many witnesses are scared to give evidence in the fear that it will come back to haunt them. What better satisfaction can you get than knowing that you helped justice prevail!?

Fitness

Okay this isn’t actually a new hobby. I’ve been going to the gym for the past 3 years but have fell completely off the wagon over the last few months. I’ve tried fitness classes as well as boot camps in the past and have loved them all.  Exercise is great for releasing endorphins in the brain leading to a happier and healthier you. Tracking the progress that your body makes is also really empowering and makes you feel that you are completely in control. I’m aiming to go to the gym at least 3 times per week as well as attending a spin class each Monday evening. Perhaps I’ll even look into some weekend classes now that I’ll not be nursing a hangover.

These are my very initial plans and I know that I’ll end up planning some more things to pass the time. Open to any suggestions for other hobbies/activities you think I should try out!

Leave a Reply

